First of all, it’s very important to know that you should not be using your phone while driving, this could prove to be dangerous for you and others around you as well. If for some reason, you are using your phone it’s important to know what you could be facing if caught by law enforcement officials and how it can affect your life in general.
The last thing anyone wants is to have their license suspended or face criminal charges because they were on their phone when they shouldn't have been.
The fine varies from state to state, as some states don’t have a ban on using cell phones while driving whereas some have heavy penalties. Texas and Montana don’t have state laws that prevent the use of cell phones while driving hence you could get away with using a cell phone while driving.
On the other hand, Alaska has the harshest penalties followed by Utah, in Alaska you can serve up to a year in jail and pay a fine of up to $10,000. Whereas in Utah, you can face a fine of $750 plus serve a 90-day sentence in prison for using your phone.
The fine in Maine is between $250 to $500, while in Wisconsin it would cost you about $400 in fines, Wisconsin also adds 4 four demerit points to your license. New York also adds three points along with a fine of $235.
Virginia, Iowa, Indiana, Delaware, and Pennsylvania have the lowest fines as compared to others, these fines can range from $20 to $50 on average and can be more according to the local laws.
Regardless of the laws, if a driver causes an accident while using their phone then the penalties might exceed their maximum limit and the driver might also have to face a felony charge.
To learn more about the driving laws of different states, visit our blog section.